Waffle How To… with Sarah

Step 1: Find two people who love breakfast.

img_27781

Step 2: Pre-heat the waffle iron and get out the recipe.

img_2823

Step 3: Make the batter.

Basic Waffles, from Joy of Cooking (p. 801) [halved when just the two of us]

  • 1 3/4 c. AP flour
  • 1 tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 tbsp. sugar 
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3 large eggs, beaten
  • 4 butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 c. milk

Whisk dry into wet until just combined.

Step 4: Make first waffle.

img_2825

img_2826

Step 5: Repeat, until batter is finished. Today I got two full sized, two smaller ones (sort of half-sized).

Step 6: Make fruit salad and coffee while waffles are cooking.

Step 7: Enjoy breakfast!!

img_2827

(My coffee was on its way!)

YUM! We each had a full waffle, and then a smaller one, too. Waffles are one of my favourite breakfasts… Graham teases me because his parents gave me the waffle iron for my birthday. I was mad because I thought that he convinced them to get it for me, but it was really a gift for him. I didn’t used to like waffles. Now that we have this great iron, I like them just as much as Graham, maybe more!

We had a busy day, but no more photos… hope you had a great Sunday. See you tomorrow!

2 Responses to Waffle How To… with Sarah

  1. Great post! Homemade waffles are the best!

    • hareandtortoise says:

      Thanks… wanted to do something different! If you have a waffle iron, waffles are so easy to make. I want to try other recipes now…

Leave a Reply

