Jumping on the Lent bandwagon

Lent, Lent, Lent. I’ve seen that word a few times today!

Here’s what I do… the past three or four years, I think, I’ve given up chocolate and candy. Now, you don’t see candy on the blog. But that doesn’t mean I’m not eating it! That’s definitely my vice! As for chocolate… I don’t eat it often on its own. I do like things that contain chocolate – cookies, ice cream, desserts. I don’t typically eat that stuff on a daily basis, but sometimes.

I’ve thought a lot about giving up desserts (but, what about muffins? what about semi-healthy cookies?) or sugar all together (I think this would just be too hard, in terms of keeping track… and there’s sugar in practically everything!) or … or … or … I had lots of ideas about my sweet tooth, but this is what I’ve settled on:

I’m giving up chocolate, candy and desserts* ’til Easter. 
* Anything that I could possibly eat after lunch or dinner that is sweet (pie, cookies, brownies, cake, ice cream, etc) is fair game! 

Being Pancake Tuesday, I had to make that my dinner!

img_28031

YUM! Pretty good Tuesday night dinner!

Rewind to after work… another 10k run! I was feeling fairly good and really got into my music. I’ve settled on my spring races… Mississauga 10k and Bread and Honey 15k. Now Graham has to get back into it!! 🙂 He doesn’t know the schedule yet!

Rewind back to breakfast… had an amazing bowl of oats! 1/2 c. with about a half banana (some cooked in, some on top), a tbsp of granola and a spoon of PB. Simple, but so tasty! I stayed full ’til 12:15! This bowl was quite caloric, though – probably 400 calories?! That’s a lot for me. On most days, I would rather a smaller breakfast and then a snack around 10:30ish. I think if I like this combo, I should do 1/3 c. of oats instead.

Ok, guess that’s all for now. I went on a candy overload tonight with fuzzy peaches, so I am ready to start tomorrow!

Did you give anything up for Lent?

3 Responses to Jumping on the Lent bandwagon

  1. Hangry Pants says:

    Good lent picks. I think I will give up … I don’t know yet!

  2. Natalie D says:

    i think lent is crap. i usually just try to be more aware of myself and how I can be a better person

  3. hareandtortoise says:

    For me, giving up something for Lent is just a challenge. I am healthy in terms of exercise and diet the majority of the time – I’m an active runner, with skiing and tennis tossed in, and like to push myself in terms of fitness. Sweets are my weakness – not to my detriment, though, because I’m fit and enjoy what I eat. I rarely feel guilty for eating something – more if I skip a workout because I get lazy. So, giving up sweet things for Lent means that I have a goal for myself, I am a little more conscious of what I eat and I feel satisfaction in the end.

    I think you’re right about being aware… a month or so ago, I posted about my grandparents. I see them every few weekends, but I could take 5 minutes from my day and give them a call – making them and me feel good, especially considering that my grandfather’s not well. That’s the type of thing I like to think about day in and day out… definitely more important than giving up sweets for a few weeks out of the year.

Leave a Reply

