Pasta, day 2

Happy Tuesday! Hope you had a great day today. Graham and I were off to Running Room, so that’s why I made tonight’s dinner last night. It was pasta two nights in a row, but that’s ok. 

Food & Drink is the LCBO’s magazine – the liquor commission in Ontario. It comes out four times a year, I think, and has really great recipes. Lots of them are fairly “fancy”, so better for entertaining. Graham saw this recipe and wanted to try it – it’s super easy for a weeknight.

Spicy Sausage and Fennel Rigatoni
Food & Drink Autumn 2008

2 tbsp olive oil
1 onion, chopped 
4 italian sausages, hot, mild or a combo
1/2 small fennel bulb
2 garlic gloves, minced
1/2 tsp fennel seeds (optional) – I didn’t use any
1/2 c red wine
One 796mL can plum tomatoes
One 454g pkg rigatoni
Grated parmesan

1. Bring a pot of salted water to a boil. Meanwhile, in a large wide saucepan, heat oil over medium heat. Add onion and saute a couple of minutes. Split open sausage casings and scrape out meat and add to pan. Using a fork, stir continuously, to break up meat until nearly cooked. Add fennel, garlic and fennel seeds. Cook a couple of minutes then add wine. Boil until wine is nearly evaporated, then add plum tomatoes. Smash with a potato masher to break up tomatoes. Simmer, uncovered, until slightly thickened, about 15 minutes.
2. While sauce is simmering, add pasta to boiling water and cook following package directions. Drain. Top pasta with sauce. Serve with parmesan.

My verdict? Next time I would break the sausage into smaller pieces. But overall, the taste was excellent! I love fennel, so this dish really worked for me.

I’m catching up on my Google Reader and Graham is on his computer, too.

Tomorrow night I am off to Sound of Music with my sister, so I will either post late, or Thursday morning. See you!

Edited to add: Just clicked over to Kath’s post to see that they also had pasta! Seems like it’s a pasta night all around!

Leave a Reply

