Early bird!

Tada! I’m posting in the morning! My company has a great summer hours schedule, so this is a summer day for me. We’re going to Winnipeg tonight, so I have all day to get all that “other” stuff done… but actually, I don’t have too much to do. Pack, yes. Watch tennis, yes. Drive to Mississauga, yes. Other than that… it’ll be relaxing!

Here is the scene from our balcony today:

Good day to stay inside and have… pancakes!

Fluffy Griddle Cakes (ancient recipe, not sure where it’s from)

**I halve the recipe when it’s just me, so cut everything in half – just pour out half the egg, or use it for something else.

1 1/3 c. flour
2 tbsp. sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
pinch salt
1 egg
1 c. milk
2 tbsp. canola oil/melted butter

Combine dry ingredients, combine wet ingredients, then mix all together. The batter should be thick and lumpy. These are fairly thick pancakes, as opposed to thinner ones.

Heat griddle/frying pan/crepe pan – the type of pan will depend on the heat. I guess you’d say you want moderate heat…

Pour batter into circle shapes. When air bubbles appear on the top of the pancake, flip to the other side. I like mine to be fairly pale, but it’s whatever you want.

Voila!

I tried to stop after 2, then 2 and a half, but kept eating! 

I think I am going to start watching Dexter. I’m excited because I’ve heard it’s great! See you for lunch!!

 

3 Responses to Early bird!

  1. Mmmm, those pancakes look good! Love the fruit slices around the border of the plate!

    Enjoy your day!

  2. hareandtortoise says:

    Thanks Foodie! We are making something similar today for breakfast – french toast and peaches!

  3. kiwihaley says:

    Wow look at that fog!

Leave a Reply

